miércoles, 12 de septiembre de 2012

Gynecologic Cancer Awareness Month

Gynecologic Cancer Awareness Month

Gynecologic Cancer Awareness Month

Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.
Bookmark and Share
September is National Gynecologic Cancer Awareness Month! Gynecologic cancers are cancers that start in a woman's reproductive organs. The five main types are cervical, ovarian, uterine, vaginal, and vulvar.


Diagram of the female genital tract depicting fallopian tubes, ovaries, uterus, cervix, vagina, and vulva.
All women are at risk for gynecologic cancers, and risk increases with age. There is no way to know which women will get a gynecologic cancer. That's why it is important to pay attention to your body and know what's normal for you, so you can recognize the symptoms of gynecologic cancer.
If you notice any unexplained signs or symptoms that last for two weeks or longer, talk to your doctor. Symptoms may be caused by something other than cancer, but the only way to know for certain is to see a health care provider.

Prevention and Screening

Some gynecologic cancers are caused by human papillomavirus (HPV), a common sexually transmitted infection. A vaccine protects against the HPV types that most often cause cervical, vaginal, and vulvar cancers.
Find free and low-cost breast and cervical cancer screenings in your area – National Breast and Cervical Cancer Early Detection Program The Pap test screens for cervical cancer and can find it early, when treatment can be most effective. The Pap test also helps prevent cervical cancer by finding precancers, cell changes on the cervix that might become cervical cancer if they are not treated appropriately.
The HPV test looks for HPV infection. It may be used with the Pap test to screen women aged 30–65 years, or for women of any age who have unclear Pap test results. Learn more about the Pap and HPV tests.
The Pap test only checks for cervical cancer. It does not check for ovarian, uterine, vaginal, or vulvar cancers.

Inside Knowledge: Get the Facts About Gynecologic Cancer Campaign

The Inside Knowledge: Get the Facts About Gynecologic Cancer campaign raises awareness about the five main types of gynecologic cancer: cervical, ovarian, uterine, vaginal, and vulvar. The campaign produces educational materials in English and Spanish.

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario