sábado, 20 de enero de 2018

Overview - European Commission

Overview - European Commission

European Commission logo


Health systems in the European Union aim to provide high-quality, cost-effective care. This is particularly difficult however, in cases of rare or low-prevalence complex diseases which affect the daily lives of around 30million EU citizens.
European Reference Networks (ERNs) are virtual networks involving healthcare providers across Europe. They aim to facilitate discussion on complex or rare diseases and conditions that require highly specialised treatment, and concentrated knowledge and resources.

How does it work?

To review a patient’s diagnosis and treatment, ERN coordinators convene ‘virtual’ advisory panels of medical specialists across different disciplines, using a dedicated IT platform and telemedicine tools.
The process and criteria for establishing an ERN and for selecting its members are set in EU legislation.

24 Networks

The first ERNs were launched in March 2017Search for available translations of the preceding link, involving more than 900 highly-specialised healthcare units from over 300 hospitals in 26 EU countries. 24 ERNs are working on a range of thematic issues including bone disorders, childhood cancer and immunodeficiency.


The ERN initiative receives support from several EU funding programmes, including the Health Programme, the Connecting Europe Facilityand Horizon 2020.


The ERN initiative is mainly driven by EU countries. The Board of Member States is the formal body in charge of the approval and termination of networks and memberships as provided in the Commission's Implementing Decision. The Board is comprised of representatives of the 28 EU countries and the EEA countries.
Related Information

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario