miércoles, 21 de agosto de 2013

Elaine Jaffe wins the Henry M. Stratton Medal « NCI Benchmarks

Elaine Jaffe wins the Henry M. Stratton Medal « NCI Benchmarks

Elaine Jaffe wins the Henry M. Stratton Medal

image of Elaine Jaffe, M.D.
Elaine Jaffe, M.D.
Each year the American Society of Hematology (ASH) honors two senior investigators, one in basic research and the other in clinical/translational research, with the Henry M. Stratton Medal for their contributions to the field of hematology. This year ASH will be recognizing NCI’s Elaine Jaffe, M.D., and Duke University’s Nancy Andrews, M.D., with the 2013 medal for their accomplishments in the field of lymphoma.
Jaffe heads the Hematopathology Section of the Laboratory of Pathology in NCI’s Center for Cancer Research and has been with NCI for over 40 years.  She is well known for her work related to the pathophysiology and prognosis of malignant lymphomas. Her research has focused on the interrelationship between Hodgkin lymphoma and B-cell lymphomas—in particular, on grey zone lymphomas that appear to represent the missing link between classical Hodgkin lymphoma and other B-cell malignancies.  Her research has also explored the genetic and epigenetic mechanisms that cause a B cell to become a Hodgkin cell.
In addition to winning many awards for her research, Jaffe has held leadership roles in ASH, along with other national and international societies and is a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies.  She has also remained president of both the Society for Hematopathology as well as the United States and Canadian Academy of Pathology, and was elected to the advisory board of the American Society of Hematology.

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario